Secor Scholarship

What is the Secor Scholarship?

The $2,000 renewable Secor Scholarship was established as a memorial to the Steven and Doris Secor bequest.  It is awarded to a high school senior living in Findlay or Hancock County who plans to attend an accredited institution of higher learning to pursue any undergraduate field of study, full-time in the subsequent academic year.

How is the selection made?

A committee of local volunteers review the applications and conduct interviews with the top candidates. The selection is based on a strong commitment to service, volunteering and extracurricular activities as well as academic excellence.

Secor Scholarship 2020 Recipient - Chloe Kin

United Way of Hancock County’s Secor scholarship committee is pleased to announce Liberty-Benton High School senior, Chloe Kin, as this year’s United Way Foundation Secor Scholar.

The daughter of C.J. and Jill Kin, Chloe was selected because of her volunteerism, academic accomplishments, involvement in extracurricular and school activities and her ability to exemplify leadership skills.

Chloe has served others locally as well as abroad through her participation on the varsity soccer and basketball teams, Zonta and 4-H clubs as well as with her church youth group and mass ministry. These activities include holding food and clothing drives, laying sod, preparing food for community dinners, sorting donations, creating dog/cat toys for humane society, teaching bible school and assisting in serving mass at her church. Her titles have included Captain, Master of ceremonies, president and vice president. Chloe will continue her service to others through her studies in the field of exercise science with a long-term vision of becoming a surgeon.

When asked to define what matters most in her essay, Chloe summarized her thought this way:  “Treating people right, helping them when able, and loving them (especially when no one else does), is how we make the world a better place. That is what really matters.”

To hear the entire essay and see highlights of Chole's service in action, click here.

Past Recipients
  • Victoria DeNike, 2019
  • Matthew Lichtinger, 2018
  • Jordan Trenkamp, 2017
  • Alisha Schroeder, 2016
  • Carly Smith, 2015
  • Trent Schroeder, 2014
  • Marisa Burkett, 2013
  • Mikayla Brown, 2012
  • Andrew Bishop, 2011
  • Cole Lautermilch, 2010
  • Spencer M. Bruce, 2009
  • Thomas Davidson, 2008
  • Anthony Baratta, 2007
  • Allison M. Lause, 2006
  • Lisa Voigt, 2005
  • Amy Cranfield, 2004
  • Allison Cox, 2003
  • Julie E. Reid, 2002
  • Gregory P. Zunkiewicz, 2001
  • Cassie D. Burns, 2000
  • Amy M. Peters, 1999
  • Susie C. Coolidge, 1998
  • Bradley A. Dukes, 1997
  • David W. Coolidge, 1996
  • Carrie R. Schlosser, 1995
  • Sara E. Reineck, 1994
  • Bethany E. Rustic, 1993
  • Sarah J. Decker, 1992