Sign me up for updates. Sign up now

You are here

Jeri Bjorling Memorial Distinguished Volunteer of the Year Award

Each year, since 1981, United Way of Hancock County has presented the "Distinguished Volunteer Award" to an individual who has demonstrated dedication and willingness to serve the community through their overall involvement with United Way as a volunteer and leader, as well as with other organizations in the nonprofit sector.

In 2012, the award was renamed the "Jeri Bjorling Memorial Distinguished Volunteer Award" in her memory. She died in November of 2011. She was the current United Way board chair when she passed away. Jeri served a successful 30-year career in banking, including First Federal, Huntington Bank, Sky Bank (formerly the Ohio Bank), Bank One (formerly Diamond Savings and Loan). More recently, Jeri worked as a sales manager for Rowmark (Clear Path).

While career-focused, Jeri spent her entire life giving back to the community, civic and charity involvement and served on a variety of boards of directors and trustees. Many of the organizations she impacted include The United Way, Children's Mentoring Connection, Handbags that Help, Hope House, American Business Women's Association, and Hancock Reads. Jeri was also a former deacon for the First Presbyterian Church in Findlay. Jeri touched many lives through multiple organizations, and it gave her the greatest joy. One of her favorite civic events was Camp Fire USA's Incredible Kid Day, and she was the driving force behind their "On Behalf of Youth" Award.

Jeri was the first woman member of the Findlay Kiwanis Club, and a graduate of Hancock Leadership, 1989. Jeri was the first winner of the Athena Award, given by the Findlay-Hancock County Alliance in 2000, for professional excellence, community service and for actively assisting women in their attainment of professional excellence and leadership skills.



John Platt Selected as the 2018 Recipients of the Jeri Bjorling Memorial Distinguished Volunteer Award


United Way of Hancock County is pleased to announce John Platt as the 2018 recipient of the Jeri Bjorling Memorial Distinguished Volunteer Award.

John has generously given of his time, talent and treasure to United Way for more than nine years. His initial service began as an impact grant review team member progressing to an assistant impact team chair. He currently serves as an Impact Team Chair.

His analytical nature and humble disposition allow him to work toward consensus with review team members while safely exploring difficult and pressing questions to ensure donor dollars are used to create measurable success.

John is a Findlay native and currently resides in Arlington with his wife Sue. He spent 25 years in industrial engineering, cost analysis and IT management positions at RCA and then as an instructor in management at Rhodes State College (Lima). In 1972, he was appointed by Judge Moorehead to the original board of trustees of the newly organized Findlay-Hancock County District Public Library. John also serves on the Food Security and Transportation Coalitions, is an avid gardener and member of the Men’s and Women’s Garden Club of Findlay.

Platt, in attendance with his wife Sue, was honored at the United Way of Hancock County annual meeting held on Thursday, March 21, 2019.





Past Recipients

  • Karen Jones and William Doyle, 2017
  • Michael "Chick" Padula, 2016
  • Dave Whikehart, 2015
  • Doug Hiegel, 2014
  • Jeanne Rustic, 2013
  • David Cassidy, 2012
  • Jeri Bjorling, 2011
  • Harold "Puck" Rowe, 2010
  • Larry Busdeker, 2009
  • Randy Lohoff, 2008
  • Dick Schaefer, 2007
  • Beth Heck, 2006
  • Tom Donnell, 2005
  • Duane Jebbett, 2004
  • Deb Arce, 2003
  • Don & Karen Manley, 2002
  • Robert Howard, 2001
  • Sandy Kozlevcar, 2000
  • Peg Logsdon, 1999
  • Don Badertscher, 1998
  • William Recker, 1997
  • G. Norman Nicholson, 1996
  • Barbara Deerhake,1995
  • Ivan Gorr, 1994
  • Joe & Claire Davis, 1993
  • John Arnold, 1992
  • Marjory Kennedy, 1991
  • William Sackman, 1990
  • Charles Hymes, 1989
  • Robert Feller, 1988
  • G. Fred Graf, 1987
  • James Brucklacher, 1986
  • Grant Young, 1985
  • William Ruse, 1984
  • Jack Harrington, 1983
  • Edwin Heminger, 1982