Sign me up for updates. Sign up now

You are here

United Way Hosts 2018 Annual Meeting

Findlay, OH (April 27, 2018) United Way of Hancock County held its annual meeting on Thursday, April 26 at the Hilton Garden Inn. During the meeting, Findlay High School senior Matthew Lichtinger was awarded the Secor scholarship. The $2,000 renewable Secor Scholarship was established as a memorial to the Steven and Doris Secor bequest.  It is awarded to a high school senior or high school graduate living in Findlay or Hancock County who plans to attend an accredited institution of higher learning to pursue an undergraduate field of study, full time in the subsequent academic year. The candidate must exhibit a strong commitment to service, volunteering, extracurricular involvement and academic excellence.

For the first time ever, the Jeri Bjorling Memorial Distinguished Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to two community members, Karen Jones and Bill Doyle. Jones and Doyle were recognized for their long time involvement with United Way as well as numerous other nonprofit organizations.

Additionally, for the first time, United Way presented company recognition awards. The awards were given as follows:

Highest average employee gift:
Small company award: The Alliance of Findlay and Hancock County
Mid-size company award: Reineke Family Dealerships

Largest campaign increase over the previous year:
Small company award: APTIM
Mid-size company Award:  GSW Manufacturing and Hancock County employees

Highest number of employees giving $750 or more:
Small company award: First Federal Bank
Mid-size company award: Rowmark

Highest percentage of employee participation:
Small company award: LaRiche Toyota Subaru
Mid-size company award: TH Plastics

The Ignite Award for best new campaign went to Valfilm. Their first company campaign raised $28,000 placing them in 7th place of all campaigns in the community.

The Fired Up Award was presented Whirlpool Corporation for the most creative, fun and interactive campaign.

The Live United Award was presented to Cooper Tire & Rubber Company recognizing their annual golf outing event that, for the past ten years, has raised over $1 million for United Way.

And finally, The Pinnacle Award, a one-time award recognizing a corporation of more than 500 employees for excelling in all categories was presented to Marathon Petroleum Corporation.

Outgoing board members, Brent Funk and Marc Washington, were recognized for the completion of their terms. New board members Lt. Jim Mathias and Eric Ferguson were voted in. Karen Jones was approved to fulfill a one-year term. The meeting attendees also approved board officers Chris Webb as board chair and Amy Hackenberg as chair-elect. Christie Ranzau was recognized for completing two years as board chair.